28 Jan

I’ve officially given up on the January Cure this year, but I still saw improvement. I’ll continue to do small tasks, and they should add up to a happier, calmer home as the year progresses.

I’ll start where I am right now; my desk (actually the first table we ever bought, as a 4-person dining table for our first rental together). The top is worn in patches from use and it’s an unpleasant dark brown, so I used to think about painting it. Now that I have a better job, I’ve been keeping watch for a replacement. Something light, but with a drawer or two. Similar to this from Ikea:

ALEX Desk IKEA Built-in cable management for collecting cables and cords; out of sight but close at hand.

Or, I could find some sturdy metal legs from the plethora of beat-up tables in op-shops, then add my own top using a butcherblock counter or just planks of wood, but that wouldn’t have drawers.

Anyway, for now I’ll work with what I have.

280117-017

It gets dusty and cluttered. A quick tidy later:

280117-019

I scrubbed a few stubbon marks off my computer screen, then went searching for a task that isn’t something I regularly do.

I’d like to get the garage in order this year. Right now it’s full of spiders and sawdust.

280117-022
Hello, creepy little friends!

We already have shelving, bought years ago, still in the box and waiting for me to clear some room to put it up.

280117-020

I cleared all the junk from this wall last year. Stuff is creeping back. I tossed the bag of rubbish and pizza box, then cleaned the cooler (still containing melted ice from November) and left it in the sun to dry.

280117-023

280117-021

We bought this freezer when we bought the house, planning to buy bulk meat to save money. We never bothered. It’s been off for months and gathering clutter. I can do something about that.

280117-027

280117-026

Smelled like old potatoes. Not as moldy as I thought it would be.

280117-028

All clean (inside at least, I’m not braving the spiderwebs on the outside). I’ll toss the basket in the dishwasher later. That wasn’t too bad. I don’t know if we’ll ever use it again. It wasn’t something I wanted, but my partner thought it was essential.

Hmm, perhaps I can store some garage stuff in it…

 

Leave a Reply

